Valve has announced minor changes to the format of The International 2022 Dota 2 tournament. The organizers have increased the number of participants to 20 teams.


Who will be able to participate in the tournament?

- Top 12 Dota Pro Circuit ranking teams:
- Six winners of regional qualifiers;
- Two winners from additional qualification for 12 teams

In total, 20 teams will perform at The International 2022. They will be divided into two groups, in which a round-robin series will be held. After the stage, four teams will leave the tournament (two from each group), and the rest will continue to play in the playoff stage in the same format as the previous tournaments of the series.

Valve representatives expect the rest of the season to go according to plan. The company promised to publish information about the second and third major “in a few weeks”.